Thursday, September 21 2017
rss linkedin googleplus twitter facebook
VOL 23 NO 55 REGD NO DA 1589 | Dhaka, Tuesday, January 5 2016
Posted : 05 Jan, 2016 21:24:59 AA-A+
Squad announced for Zimbabwe series
Squad announced for Zimbabwe series

Bangladesh Cricket Board called up young revelations Abu Haider Rony and Nurul Hasan for the T20 International series against Zimbabwe. The board announced a 14-man squad for the first two matches of the series on Tuesday.

The youngsters were selected on the back of some fine performances in Bangladesh Premier League last month. Shuvagata Hom Chowdhury, who is yet to play an international T20 match, is in the squad as well.

The BCB made five changes to the squad that played T20Is against Zimbabwe in November last year. The selectors have left out Nasir Hossain, Litton Kumer Das, Jubair Hossain, Kamrul Islam Rabbi and Anamul Haque for the first two matches of the four-match series.

Left-handed opener Soumya Sarkar returned to the fold after recovering from an injury while Shakib Al Hasan, too, made his way back after spending some time with his family. The inclusion of left-arm seamer Rony, who grabbed 21 wickets in the BPL, was somewhat certain but the addition of wicketkeeper-batsman Nurul came as a surprise.

Bangladesh have been in search of a batsman to play at No. 7 in T20s for some time. The team management is likely to thrust Nurul into the role with the World T20 coming a couple of months later.

Shuvagata's inclusion, however, was questionable. Although he showed accuracy with the ball, he took just five wickets and scored 94 runs in nine innings in the BPL. But the selectors brought his ability to play shots early in his innings into consideration. The 29-year old is also adept at dealing with spin. Zimbabwe will reach Bangladesh on Jan 11. The matches are scheduled to be played on Jan 15, 17, 20 and 22 in Khulna.


Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (Captain), Shakib Al Hasan (Vice Captain), Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Arafat Sunny, Quazi Nurul Hasan, Shuvagata Hom Chowdhury, Mustafizur Rahman, Abu Haider Rony, Al-Amin Hossain, according to -Mithun

Copyright ©2017
International Publications Limited.
All rights reserved
Editor : A.H.M Moazzem Hossain,
Published by the Editor for International Publications Limited from Tropicana Tower (4th floor), 45, Topkhana Road, GPO Box : 2526 Dhaka- 1000 and printed by him from City Publishing House Ltd., 1 RK MissionRoad, Dhaka-1000.

Telephone : PABX : 9553550 (Hunting), 9513814, 7172017 and 7172012 Fax : 880-2-9567049.
Copyright © 2017   Developed By :

Squad announced for Zimbabwe series | 24 News | The financial express